Porcelain Award

Concept and design of a plaquette of distinction.

The Bavarian Museum Prize, honouring outstanding work by a non-state-run museum, is awarded every two years by the Bayerische Landesstelle für die nichtstaatlichen Museen and the Versicherungskammer Bayern. 2009 – 2013 the porcelain plaquette was cast from two tones of slip, and after bisque-firing, each one is inscribed by hand with the respective date. The plaquette was produced by Porzellan-Manufaktur Nymphenburg. Photograph by Stefan Heigl.

In 2015 the design of the plaquette was revised. The plaquette is now cast in bronze.


Valerie Kiock